Opinion

RSS

By Ashley Curry more

Feb 23, 2017 12:39 PM Mayor's Minute 1 Comments

VV-COVER-Leaf&Petallot-1.jpg

Photo by Emily Featherston.

"The proposed development will invade the peaceful quality of our lives and be most disruptive." more

Nov 11, 2016 5:01 PM Opinion

"As a pediatrician, I am particularly concerned about youth tobacco use and secondhand smoke exposure in our state." more

Sep 28, 2016 2:23 PM Opinion 6 Comments

"Recently I asked my 9-year-old daughter what she wants to be when she grows up. " more

Sep 6, 2016 1:43 PM Opinion

It’s that time of year again, time to pull out the backpacks, get haircuts, set up alarm clocks, and make 20 trips to Target because school is about to start, and Mom is on a mission. more

Jul 28, 2016 11:56 AM Opinion

These moms don’t care about their kids being popular or belonging to a particular circle. But when they see their child sit home every weekend with nothing to do and notice how it impacts their self-esteem, it hurts them. more

Jun 23, 2016 10:25 AM Opinion

"My sweet father-in-law, Nestor Kampakis, passed away unexpectedly this past New Year’s Eve. Although he had Alzheimer’s, his death was a shock, altering the landscape of 2016 for our family." more

May 26, 2016 1:35 PM Opinion

"Several years ago, I heard about a fifth-grade boy who showed character during a summer all-stars baseball game that was intense and high-stakes." more

Apr 29, 2016 1:38 PM Opinion

I would like to take an opportunity to talk to our citizens about the zoning process. We follow a certain procedure and would like the public to be aware of the necessary steps to rezone their property. more

Jul 30, 2015 1:15 PM Mayor's Minute

This month, I’d like to share with you information about the working relationships between the city and the Chamber of Commerce, as well as our relationship working with the school system. more

Jun 23, 2015 9:19 AM Mayor's Minute

I want to start off by acknowledging our students who participated in Awards Day at the high school in May. more

May 27, 2015 9:23 AM Mayor's Minute

With the end of the school year coming, I’m sure our seniors are excited about upcoming graduation, and moving onto their college careers. more

Apr 30, 2015 10:15 AM Mayor's Minute

Laura Bush

Photo courtesy of Samantha Nelson.

If you were in the audience for former first lady Laura Bush’s visit on Thursday, you may not have noticed the Wright Center staff patrolling the press section precisely three minutes into her speech. I can assure you, though, that the Crimson did. more

Apr 2, 2015 11:08 AM Editor's Perspective

It is once again springtime in our beautiful Vestavia Hills. I hope the beginning of this season finds you out with your family and friends, enjoying the many amenities our community has to offer. more

Mar 25, 2015 1:53 PM Mayor's Minute 1 Comments

As we move forward into March, Vestavia Hills is on the move. more

Feb 24, 2015 10:29 AM Mayor's Minute

I’d like to begin with an update on the status of the new City Hall. Progress is going well. more

Jan 27, 2015 11:34 AM Mayor's Minute

On behalf of the city council, we want to wish everyone a happy and prosperous New Year. more

Dec 19, 2014 1:09 PM Mayor's Minute

As we enter the holiday season, I know many of you are wondering why there are hay bales up and down Highway 31. more

Oct 29, 2014 12:02 PM Mayor's Minute

I hope this message finds you well, and enjoying the early fall season in our beautiful Vestavia Hills. more

Sep 23, 2014 3:22 PM Mayor's Minute

Taking into account the revenue forecast and the department requests we’ve received, I am pleased to report that we will have a balanced budget. more

Aug 25, 2014 4:23 PM Mayor's Minute